Scratch My Name Into the Feet of Statues

February 23, 2015 § Leave a comment

Scratch my name into the feet of statues

Around the world; write me into being;

On the spotless walls of the avenues

Re-scrawl my name with love everlasting.

Don’t turn me into marble, bronze or gold,

Don’t portrait me to then hang on the wall,

Or, worse still, to collect dust and grow old

Lying silently, forgotten to all.

Write, write, write and then rewrite me once more!

For when you revive me I will live on

And on – it’s impossible to ignore

What’s immortalized in a lexicon.

 

Time is long and so difficult to best:

I need your help, reader, to stand this test.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scratch My Name Into the Feet of Statues at Immanent Disasters.

meta

